Archive | 1:13 am

The end of the first week

1 Oct

So I’m happy to say that the longer Saunders has been here the more she seems to fit in. She’s such a little princess. But not in a spoiled brat kind of way. In fact she seems quite disinterested in 75% of the toys or treats I’ve gotten her (anyone want Tuna Flakes, Vitakitty chicken breast pieces, or a Kong glitter orange ball with a bell inside?). It’s like I wanna spoil her like I spoil Nef yet she has no interest. But she really is a sweet little princess. I so didn’t wanna be sexist and make her wear pink collars and have pink bowls and a pink litter box buttttt, the more I get to know her, the more she seems like a pink girl. It just suits her. (Nef is more of a neutral boy, favoring tans, sometimes reds, and the Burberry pattern.) So far she has a pink litter pan, red litter scooper with a kitty on it, pink brush, and pink cupcake collar. And will be getting pastel pink and blue soft paws if her nails get OOC (I do not want to declaw). My speech therapist said she’d come over and help me put them on if I need to. I’m almost kinda hoping I don’t need to cuz I feel bad (even though they come highly recommended and from all accounts are safe) but just in case I know I’ll prolly need help. She also was a bit stinky from the SPCA (just a tiiiny bit) and I couldn’t fully bathe her because she still has her stitches in so I got some kitten wipes and spritzed her with a Strawberry Yogurt spray. Lemme say I highly recommend that spray because it made her smell like Strawberry Shortcake and that’s always a plus. I took her to the vet the other day for her first checkup and also because she had a cold and I was worried it was a URI. I’m glad to say it wasn’t and she seems to be getting better aaaand weighs 2.2lbs heh. Her and Nef have learned to play with each other better. I also think it helps that she eats all the time and has filled out a teeny bit (she was skin and bones when I got her). He does nip at her though when he gets jealous which I’m not too thrilled about. It seems to be just nips at the air near her ears usually, but I don’t want to take any chances. She’s getting good at batting him though and her claws don’t seem too long yet to hurt him (I’m hoping). The only issue is sleeping. They don’t know how to cohabitate at night yet and spend a good chunk of it messing around. Because what do they care, they can nap during the day. Unlike their mother.

I get my new couch tomorrow! I’m so excited. It’s this super tacky sea foam green and I love it. But it actually matches the painting in my front room so it’s gonna be awesome.

My two little babes